DAVE’S AUDIOBLOG ENTRY #18: Why I Shu–actually, you know what, screw it, I’m just gonna get to the point

Seriously, get to the point!

DON’T WANNA READ? THEN LISTEN!:

You only have so much time to read or listen to my audioblog. Especially if you have other emails to answer, other auditions to do, live in a busy market, have other projects to edit…you gut stuff to do. I get it. However, over the weekend, I was reminded of just how busy our world is, and I was grateful for the reminder.

Over the past weekend, I had the pleasure of corresponding with a family friend, an actor who lives in Los Angeles and has lived there for quite some time. I’m moving there (late this year or early next year, there are a few x factors involved), and he was extremely kind and generous with all of the info that he provided. It started out with an in-person meeting, progressed to some back-and-forth emails, and culminated in a phone call. In my opinion, though, the most interesting part of the whole conversation I had with him on the phone was towards the end. He said…

“Also, Dave, just one last quick thing…the emails that you sent me…they were long. Really, REALLY long. I totally get it, ’cause I’m the same way, I love to include as many details as I can to give people a complete understanding of the situation, so I don’t mind it personally, but…send those emails to the average person in LA, and you will overwhelm them. The acting business in LA operates on a lightning-fast business model, so you need to get to the point and quick. I’m not saying you should change who you are, or anything like that, I’m just telling you that, in LA…you got to get to the point, and quick, because on their best days, the main bullet points are all the people in LA have time for. Often they don’t even have time for those. Less is more.”

Okay, sorry for puttin’ that cheesy reverb effect on the “less is more” bit, but I did that for the sake of emphasis. “Less is more,” in case you didn’t notice, has become the defacto principle of communication. I noticed it myself even before he pointed it out, but the fact that I went ahead with super-lengthy emails despite knowing how overwhelming they can be demonstrated that this principle can be easy to forget. I’ve mentioned before that, while I’m a humble person, if you ever see me boast about one thing, it’ll be my kung-fu typing speed. That, combined with the fact that I like to talk, usually results in really lengthy emails, audioblog entries, and forum posts.

Well, the forum posts aren’t going to be shortened. Or the audioblog entries (except for this one, for the sake of thematic consistency). Emails, though? Less is more. The very fact that a social network like Twitter exists proves that people are less and less interested in long details, they just want to get to the point. Heck, it wouldn’t surprise me if eventually they’re just gonna create a social network where all of your posts are limited to one letter, with every letter meant to be shorthand for something. Like…

O.

Which will eventually be short-hand for, “Of course, good sir, I will gladly attend your party this evening after making the proper transportation arrangements.”

All of that to say…be polite, tell people what they want to know…but get to the point. In fact, I apologize if you listened to this, considering how busy our schedules are. As an act of repentance, if you’re listening to the audio narration of this entry, I will now speed up the speed of the audioblog entry so that you can get it in a more time-appropriate format.

FOR THE PEOPLE WHO DON’T HAVE A TON OF TIME:

3 thoughts on “DAVE’S AUDIOBLOG ENTRY #18: Why I Shu–actually, you know what, screw it, I’m just gonna get to the point

Leave a Reply

