DAVE’S AUDIOBLOG ENTRY #14: Why I Failed…no, I mean why I failed to keep my New Year’s Resolution along with other goals. What did you think I meant?

Papa John’s–AKA THE BEST PIZZA EVER, BAR NONE!!!!

DON’T WANNA READ? THEN LISTEN!:

I LOVE Papa John’s pizza, which is partially why I’m eating it while I record this audioblog entry. It’s been my favorite pizza chain ever since I was in the seventh grade. Back when I was a kid and talked about maybe doing voice acting one day, the first suggestion from my family was that I do a Pappa John’s commercial (which I totally would do if the opportunity presented itself). Having said that, one could say I love Papa John’s a bit too much. It got to the point where I was eating it about five times a week. For some reason, my metabolism is such that I never gain an ounce of weight no matter what I eat, but that’s besides the point. It’s still not the healthiest thing in the world, so I made a New Year’s Resolution to only eat three a week at most…already failed. Much like most of our New Year’s Resolutions.

Some of you may be thinking, “Dave, it’s late in March, shouldn’t New Year’s Resolutions be saved for December?” Well, lest my ears deceive me, the term “year” usually encompasses 365 days. Of those 365 days, December constitutes 31 of them. This mind-boggling phenomenon ultimately leads me to conclude that when someone makes a “New Year’s Resolution,” they intend to keep it for–ahem–an entire year. To that end, I’d like to ask all my readers and listeners…c’mon now…how many of your New Year’s Resolutions have you actually kept? Or did your New Year’s Resolutions turn into a, “Minimal Effort That Lasts For A Week Or Two Before Gradually Returning To The Normal Routine” Resolution?

Hey, I’m not judging. I can tell you without hesitation that I kept some and didn’t keep some. Because I want to end on a positive note, let’s talk about the ones I didn’t keep first.

New Year’s Resolution #1: Limit yourself to three Papa John’s pizzas a week. Failed. Right out the gate.

New Year’s Resolution #2: One new blog entry a week. Already failed. I certainly don’t believe I’m indispensable to the internet’s existence, and I’m sure the world continued to operate just fine when I didn’t post one last week, but I began writing (and voicing) my audioblog late last year with a mere three posts and, while I created it and continue to maintain it with the sole intention of public reflection and discussion, the response was nice enough to encourage me to write more. That, and I’ve always had something of a passion for writing. So I thought, ya know what–GOD, this is good pizza–I thought, ya know what, I’m gonna write one a week. Last Sunday ended up being too busy, sure, but I knew it was gonna be busy, and should have planned ahead of time, like we all should when we know a particular day will be busy. And I didn’t.

New Year’s Resolution #3: Revamp my website. Eh. Half-failed. I’m entering talks with a web-designer to organize my stuff a bit more by combining my audioblog with my main site, I’m workin’ on a long-overdue video reel, and re-designing my logo. So…half-failed in that I haven’t done it yet, but I’m in the process. Still, I’m weary of phrases like “in the process,” and “workin’ on it,”…because you know as well as I do, those usually get changed to “no longer in the process,” and “not workin’ on it,” soon enough.

Okay, that’s the failed stuff. I did manage to get some stuff done, though! Well, actually, first, let me grab a drink of water. Hold on.

(after getting a drink)

Okay. What, did you think I was gonna edit that out?

(belch)

‘Scuse me.

New Year’s Resolution #4: Find more efficient ways to keep in contact with my clients. Since I’m a VO talent, I think about my VO business 24/7. When we think like that, though, we have a tendency to forget that we’re but a cog in the machine that is someone else’s business. When we get hired to do a commercial or an internet video, the client is primarily concerned with selling the content on that commercial or video. They’re not launching a manhunt for A GLOWING, DEFINITIVE VOICE…rather, they’re just listening through auditions and going, “Um….yeah, that one guy sounds good.” We’re just one step in a bigger process, so it’s easy for us to not be “top of mind” when our clients launch a new project. So there has to be a good way of keeping in touch with them and politely reminding them that we exist, right?

Yup. Enter Happy Grasshopper.

I gotta say, I love this service. You load a contact list into it which you can update at will, and twice a month, it generates three different possible emails that you can send to your clients, usually containing fun little factoids. I’ve never cared for stock messages, though (as evidenced in “Dave’s Audioblog Entry #8” ), which is why I usually change the wording of the messages and add some more stuff to put my own spin on it–and yes, you can do that with Happy Grasshopper. So, mission accomplished there!

…And, um….that’s it.

That’s not to say that I don’t have other goals, but I didn’t have other goals in the context of New Year’s Resolutions. Let’s face it guys, almost nobody follows through on these things, because it–

(swallow)

–because it’s hard to keep stuff up for a year. For that reason, I normally don’t prefer to make New Year’s Resolutions. However, I do find it helpful in accomplishing goals if there is some sort of looming pressure to accomplish  them. So, take a moment to think about the goals you set out to do, whether or not you actually did them, and what you would need to change in order to correct that.

In fact, I know what I can do! I’ll do two audioblog entries in one day, that way I can make up for the one I missed! Here’s a link to it!

4 thoughts on “DAVE’S AUDIOBLOG ENTRY #14: Why I Failed…no, I mean why I failed to keep my New Year’s Resolution along with other goals. What did you think I meant?

  1. You’re insane Dave. Insanely funny, I mean. Bwahaha!

    Yep, those resolutions are nasty little things. I think next year I’ll resolve to not make an resolutions. There’s an idea!
    Many years ago I set a resolution to stop pressing “snooze” on the alarm clock every morning. That was one resolution I’m proud to say I kept all year…but ONLY for that year. After 365 days, I guess my brain had had enough of that and wasn’t getting enough sleep…so I started hitting snooze again. Bad habit.

    I think the only way to really make ’em stick is to resolve something you’re truly committed to doing. Maybe it’s the things you write down and tell your closest friends and your parents…anyone who has the capability to SEE that you aren’t doing what you resolved to do and put you back on the right course.

    That’s my 2 cents.

    –Jay

    • Hi Jay! It’s been a while–nice to hear from ya! I’m glad you enjoyed this. 🙂

      I don’t blame you about the snooze bar. I discovered a couple years ago that, no matter what time I set the alarm to, I instinctively hit the snooze bar as an act of defiance against destiny. So I started setting my alarm to go off twice, knowing that I would instinctively hit the snooze bar the first time.

      And you know what, that’s actually pretty true now that I think about it. If you commit to something in front of other people, and make a big deal about it, there is the looming threat of being embarrassed once–or rather, if–you don’t follow through on your stated goals. I’ve done that a few times, but maybe I’ll start doing that more. In any event, your 2 cents are always welcome!

      • I’m exactly like that Dave! Hit snooze just to be defiant! I know I’m veering from the subject of your blog, but let me add this one thing that might help people who read this. I’ve discovered that if I DON’T use the alarm clock and just use a timer instead to give myself exactly 7 hours of sleep…no matter what time I went to bed. THAT WORKS! I don’t even WANT to go back to sleep when I do that. If I don’t have somewhere specific to be in the morning, setting a timer works wonders for me. I get up better, more refreshed and have a better day than when I hit snooze over and over and become frustrated with myself!!

        Now on to the real subject…

        I find there’s a good bit of empowerment in telling people about your plans to do something. You don’t want to have to come back later and tell them it didn’t work out. I hate that. Plus, along the way, some people will turn out to be your best cheerleader and keep you on track. I’ve had that happen a time or two.

        Keep up the blogs Dave! I enjoy reading.

  2. Pingback: DAVE’S AUDIOBLOG ENTRY #14: Why I Failed…no, I mean why I failed to keep my New Year’s Resolution along with other goals. What did you think I meant? | Voiceover | Scoop.it

Leave a Reply

