DAVE’S AUDIOBLOG Entry #1: Why I Broke Down…no, I mean why I broke down and got a blog. What did you think I meant?

This is a picture of a blog. What? Can’t you tell?

DON’T WANNA READ? THEN LISTEN!:

“You should have a blog”….

If I had a nickel for every time someone has said that to me…I’d have about $20.00…I mean, ya know. Ish.

I resisted getting a blog for the longest time. The reasons were many, of course. I was afraid I would never have anything to talk about, that I wouldn’t have something of value to say, that nobody would be interested, that I wouldn’t have the time…the list goes on and on. I thought that a blog wouldn’t serve much of a purpose and essentially be reduced to a “glorified bonus” to my online presence.

I now believe I was wrong, though. So, appropriately enough, I figured my first blog post should be about just that–the reason why I was wrong.

In the end, it simply comes down to the fact that we live in an ADD world.

And by the way, that’s not to offend people who have ADD–my younger sister has it, after all–but rather, that was intended as a jab at society at large. We live in a world where people expect you to get to the point. It seems that every time some new method of communication is invented, people all of a sudden expect you to get the point faster than you already were. Long, long ago we just simply talked to each other. And then we invented letters. Why? Because it was annoying to, ya know, WALK…to talk to somebody, so we figured it would save us the trouble and maybe a little bit of hassle. Then phones were invented. Why? Because people didn’t want to wait for letters. They wanted to just get to the point. Then answering machines were invented, because we don’t actually want to have a conversation, we want you to just leave a message and get to the point. Then cell phones were invented. After all, why should we wait for you to get home? We want you to get to the point, even if it means calling you in the middle of your off-time. Then we invented the internet, because we don’t want to through the hassle of paying phone bills for long-distance calls: we want your response on our own time and at our own convenience! Then we invented social media sites like MySpace and Facebook, because we didn’t want to be so formal–we want you to get to the freaking point in a few sentences! And then, TWITTER! We want you TO GET TO THE FREAKING POINT RIGHT FREAKING NOW IN ONE FREAKING SENTENCE!!!

…Ugh. You get the drill. Upon re-examining today’s ADD, “get to the point” world, we don’t really talk anymore. At all. Our lives are so busy that we don’t really operate like people anymore. So, from my perspective, blogs are actually pretty cool in that regard. We get to write longer, more detailed stuff that reminds us that there are, in fact, real people behind those faceless Twitter accounts.

That goes for me too. My web site, DaveWallaceVO.com, is much shorter, and written with an ADD, “get-to-the-point” mentality. Conversely, my blog is more expansive (…or rather it will be, once I put more entries in). I figured that if you’re interested, you can get to know Dave Wallace the guy rather than Dave Wallace the VO artist. So by all means, feel free to comment, give me your thoughts, say whatever you like. This blog is my place to be a tad more open and personal. In the interest of honesty, the focus will still be relatively VO-oriented, but not exclusively so. So, stay tuned, stick around, and see what I have to talk about!

7 thoughts on “DAVE’S AUDIOBLOG Entry #1: Why I Broke Down…no, I mean why I broke down and got a blog. What did you think I meant?

  1. Somebody told me the other day: “People have no time to read anymore. All they do is scan a text. That’s it.”

    Having a blog can become a burden if you feel that it’s a must. Before you know it, it becomes one more thing on your to-do list and you start putting it off.

    I know many colleagues that are blog-less and they seem to be doing just fine. We all have our strengths. But if you feel that you have something to say that hasn’t been said before, by all means write about it and see what happens.

    One day, a real person might respond and tell you how much they enjoyed reading your inner most thoughts. Soon enough you’ll be hooked!

  2. I definitely agree on people not having time to re….well, okay, I definitely agree that people at least *think* they don’t have time to read anymore. Like I said in this blog, it seems that all everybody tells ya nowadays is, “get to the point.” So, this whole blog is an experiment at this point. It may evolve into something greater, it may not. We’ll see!

    • Thanks, @kathcurriden! However, the chances of a video blog–or any video footage of me appearing at all, for that matter–are slim to none. On the other hand, your suggestion did inspire my next blog entry, which will be about why there won’t be any videos of me. Thanks for the idea!

  3. Pingback: DAVE’S AUDIOBLOG ENTRY #31: Why I Can’t Think…no, I mean why I have to work to get over writer’s block sometimes. What did you think I meant? | DAVE'S AUDIOBLOG

Leave a Reply

