10 thoughts on “DAVE’S AUDIOBLOG ENTRY #19: Why Nobody Looks At Me…no, I mean why nobody looks at the videos that I post on YouTube. What did you think I meant?

  1. Pingback: DAVE’S AUDIOBLOG ENTRY #20: Why I’m Uneducated…no, I mean why I feel it was absurd that I was never taught voice-over in an academic setting. What did you think I meant? | DAVE'S AUDIOBLOG

    • Thanks, Steve! If you mean what triggered me to talk about Jake, it was just that he effortlessly pulled off a marketing maneuver–going viral–that most of us haven’t so far. Assuming that’s what you meant…if I’ve misunderstood, feel free to clarify. (insert embarrassed/slightly unsure emoticon here)

      • >>>pulled off a marketing maneuver–going viral–that most of us haven’t so far

        Most of us never will, Dave.

        I wasn’t referring to what caused you to write about Jay Foushee, but rather what trigger caused his video to go viral. Kevin Allocca made it clear that trend influencers are essential in making a video go viral, so who was it that spotted the YouTube video and lit the fuse?

        Ellen didn’t discover him, but who did?

        The thing that I find, intriguing about this, is that my voice changed at an even younger age to even a lower pitch. …of course, I’m 61, so I pre-date the age of viral videos, but I certainly remember experiences like the ones that he’s related on the TV shows that he’s done.
        :)

      • That’s a good question, Steve. I’d be very interested to know that myself. I don’t know if any particular “tastemaker” saw Jake’s video, but that would be very interesting to know. We’ll find out in time, I suppose. From the sound of things, Abrams reached out to him before Ellen.

        I’m kinda jealous that he has that good a voice at that young an age. I can’t find any recordings of what I sounded like at 14, but I know an easy way to replicate the general sound that my voice sounded like. Go get a dry rag, and then press down really hard on your car’s windshield, and drrrraaaaggg it along the surface. That’s pretty much what I sounded like when I was 14.

    • Thanks a ton, Paul! :D

      To a certain degree, I don’t have problem with “freak show” viral videos (especially since most of them make for great laughs when they end up on Comedy Central’s “Tosh.0″). On incredibly rare occasions, though, they can start careers. Just ask Justin Bieber!

  2. Pingback: DAVE’S AUDIOBLOG ENTRY #20: Why I’m Uneducated…no, I mean why I feel it was absurd that I was never taught voice-over in an academic setting. What did you think I meant? | DAVE'S AUDIOBLOG

Leave a Reply

